Color her world baby onesies

Since we found out baby #2 was another little girl I have been randomly making little shirts and onesies for her, as the mood and design idea strikes. The poor child is due at the end of June and in Alabama that means hot, face melting, Devil’s living room hot, so for the first few months of her life she will be in onesies and diaper covers. Each time a make a new one The Elder A asks if she can help. I let try to let her as much as she can, she is 3 so fast moving needles and sharp scissors are not the best tools for her to be using. I let her pick the fabric, if it’s an appliqué, and push the “start” button for the designs but sadly that is the extent of what she can do…until today.

I was playing in all the wonderful linky parties today and stumbled upon a giveaway I {heart} nap time, is doing for a Silhouette Digital cutting machine. This machine has the ability to cut out heat transfer vinyl that can be ironed on to shirts, onesies, bags whatever. It is BEYOND cool but sadly I do not have a Silhouette machine (fingers crossed I win the giveaway) so I decided to use an alternative method.

I found a couple of cute cutout animal patterns online and printed them off and cut them out. I then got 3 onesies, in varying sizes, and traced the designs onto the onesie (I slide a piece of cardboard into the onesie to protect the backside). The Elder A then “colored” in the designs using some of the dozens of fabric markers I have on hand. She had so much fun making something all by herself for her baby sister. She was very proud of herself and can’t wait for her sister to wear her creations.

Maybe if I win the Silhouette machine we can make some heat transfer shirts together for her and . Either way this was a fun easy project she took full control over and something she and I both will remember for a long time to come.

These are the shapes we cutout from prints online

A onesie with cardboard inside, design traced, ready to color

Coloring in the design, note the concentration.

Her finished onesies, with a little help from Mom to finish filling them in "after her arms got too tired"

Photobucket

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

